Les Farms

The Silkies!

3 Comments

On to the love of my silkies. I can’t get enough of them.

Here are some pros of keeping silkies/breeding them:
-They make great surrogate mothers
-They eat very little
-They are fuzzy and soft
-They make you laugh
-They make your friends laugh
-They sell like hot cakes!
-They lay relatively well for an ornamental breed (at least mine do)
-They are cute. Come on. Don’t deny it!
-The roosters’ crow is less obnoxious than a standard rooster (in my experience)

Okay.. So who wants pictures?

You all are aware of my trio of breeding stock yes?

There is Steve (daddy)

There is Lorraine (mom #1)

*ROFL*

There is Pearl (mom #2)

And for the babies:


Phyllis


Gretta


Unnamed because he is going to Jaqueline – it’s a little roo ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s adorable!


Unnamed – it’s a frilkie – and it is not related to my threesome.

I’m pretty sure it’s a boy, but I’m waiting to be sure. I do believe he is going to my friend Jason. He has 3 of my silkies that are the same age.

Now for the little ones that are too young to be identified as pullet or cockerel – they are going on six weeks old this weekend (these pictures were taken last week – so they were close to 5 weeks old)


This is the one I helped hatch! She/he is so beautiful!

and we lost one last week ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It had eaten something that would not pass through the crop. It was so beautiful too.


RIP little guy โค

Here are some cute pictures of Steve being super dad:


*Chick pokes dad’s butt*


Steve: ?


Steve: “Who done it”


๐Ÿ™‚


I can’t complain – he’s been keeping them warm, feeding them and hanging out all day and all night 24/7 with his kids. His tail feathers are finally growing in and he’s looking much better. Damn you Jagger and your bullying!

3 thoughts on “The Silkies!

  1. โค phyllis is by far my favorite…but gretta…wow.
    and the little grey that you helped hatch…loveloveLOVE
    on second thought, it's probably a really good thing that you and your adorable
    feathered babies are farther away. =]

  2. Pingback: Busy Busy! « Aoxa's Chickens

Leave a Reply

