Les Farms

Bye Bye Chickadees!

4 Comments

Well we did it.. we sold half of what we had.. It was very sad for me on the days leading up to the sale, but once I got there it was really rewarding. Everyone loved that I brought them in a playpen, and we sold a few pairs of barred rocks to brand-new chicken enthusiasts. I watched as each barred rock boy pecked at this lady’s engagement ring. The boys were the first to go. The week old cochin x barred rocks were the last. So in our brooder we currently have (and are keeping at least until September):


4 silkies (2 white, 1 blue partridge, 1 frilkie)


4 cochin x barred rocks. We are keeping a girl, and the boys will be used for meat.


Penny’s baby


All 10 of the Naked Necks. The boys will be sold (save one for breeding) in September.


Doesn’t this Naked Neck look gravely beautiful? I think it is my favourite..


Lorraine & Pearl have 13 chicks. They had 11 last time I mentioned them.. I gave them two more silkie chicks. They are wonderful moms.


The goslings are simply huge. I fall more and more in love with them every day. They follow us everywhere. Invading our personal spaces and nibbling on our clothes.. It’s wonderful.


The first chicks are 13 weeks old. Can you believe that? They are the most beautiful group of chicks EVER. Don’t deny it. πŸ˜›

Skittles above.


Stanley


Gigi – Boy. I am going to breed him and skittles. I am so excited about these two. They are stunning.. I don’t even care that they wouldn’t be showable (or would they? :P) They are so beautiful no matter what.


Cathy – Tim finally responded to my emails, letting me know that Cathy could very well have white leghorn in her.


Bonnie & Hoover


Eedie


Lynette (so kill me.. I can’t tell them apart :P)


Fern (front)


Willow


The barred rock chicks are 8 weeks old. I am very sad to announce that Louanne is a Lou. 😦 Has to be.. He’s way too pretty to be a girl.


Oh he is so pretty it breaks my heart.


We enjoyed a nice sunny weekend.. Unfortunately we won’t see sun again all week.

Oh and we bought two turkey poults at the sale. They are living in the playpen with a cover over it (because they fly like crazy and are only 10 days old!) until we can get them off the heat lamp. They are Eastern Wild Turkey poults. I really hope one is a tom. Pictures to come!

4 thoughts on “Bye Bye Chickadees!

  1. ❀
    i wish you weren't a zillion miles away…
    or i wish we still lived in maine.
    i'd love to visit you & yours ❀
    and maybe get my hands on some of those beautiful babies one day.
    i love love LOVE looking at your updates!

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment! πŸ˜€

      No one comes to visit my farm 😦 Despite my many attempts to show them off πŸ˜› Family doesn’t seem as interested in my birds as I’d like them to be lol. I am so happy with all of them. They are wonderful, and beautiful. I don’t like letting go of my little biddies. Unless of course I know they are going somewhere that they will be well taken care of.

      If only you were closer. I’d feel so safe letting some of them go to you and yours ❀

  2. Sweet chickens! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

